skip to main content
National Honor Society

Select A New Club or Organization
Geoff Saunders Phone Icon 304-855-4522

       The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high schools. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Character, Scholarship, Leadership, and Service. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since their beginnings in 1921 and 1929. Four main purposes have guided chapters of NHS from the beginning: "To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools."  These purposes also translate into the criteria used for membership selection in each local chapter. 

      Chapmanville Regional High School requirements to be invited to join the NHS are:


  • Have at least a 3.50 GPA.

  • Students must not have more 2 Cs on their transcript prior to being inducted.

  • If a student is invited to join as a junior and chooses not apply, they will not be invited again as a senior, even if they meet all other criteria.

  • If a student is invited to join as a junior, applies, and is not accepted, they may apply again in their senior year if they are invited. 


      Chapmanville Regional High School requirements to maintain membership in the NHS are:

  • Maintain at least a 3.50 GPA.

  • Students must not receive a grade below a B in any class.  A single C on the trasncript wil constitute grounds for removal from the organization.

  • Students must participate in at least one service project per semester.

  • Any disciplanary action that results in in-school, out-of-school suspension, or expulsion will result in automatic removal from the organization.


CRHS National Honor Society students must be able to demonstrate their competency in four areas: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character. 

Students who have a cumulative grade point average of 85 percent, B, 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) or equivalent standard of excellence, or a higher cumulative average set by the local school's Faculty Council, meet the scholarship requirement for membership. These students are then eligible for consideration on the basis of service, leadership, and character.
* Demonstrates a strong work ethic
* Demonstrates personal responsibility
* Takes academic risks
* Perserve through challenges to become an independent learner
This quality is defined through the voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation and with a positive, courteous, and enthusiastic spirit.
* Volunteers to help their community in a variety of ways
Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, promoters of school activities, idea-contributors, dependable, and persons who exemplify positive attitudes about life. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
* Models appropriate behavior
* Consistently contributes their time and energy
* Makes positive contributions for the good of a group
* Fosters cooperation
* Encourages other to be their best
The student of good character upholds principles of morality and ethics, is cooperative, demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability, shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others,and generally maintains a good and clean lifestyle.
* Doesn't just "talk the talk"
* Has the courage to take actions that support their values, ethics, and morals
* Consistent in what they say and do
* Makes good character a habit, not a convenience
The student who demonstrates citizenship understands the importance of civic involvement, has a high regard for freedom, justice, and democracy, and demonstrates mature participation andresponsibility through involvement with such activities as scouting, community organizations, and school clubs.

2016-2017 Members are:  

Mallory Kennedy

Kerston Kennedy

Chaseton Ghee

Baylee Browning

Sarah Farmer

Ashley Gilman

C.J. Clay

Katie Fletcher

Rachel Costa

Emily Workman

Malloree Mullins

D.J. Conley

Abby Marcum

Richelle Thompson

Megan Satterfield

Brycen Kuenzel

Hollie Carter

Cassidy Lewis

Myla Bryant

Rachel Surgoine

Alyx Bush

Alicia Walker

Lexi Hines

Hali Baldwin

Sara Lambert


President-  Brycen Kuenzel
Vice President- Cassidy Lewis
Secretary- Kerston Kennedy
Treasurer- Baylee Browning 

                                                    NHS Pledge of Membership

     I pledge myself to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been elected, will be true to the principles for which it stands: will be loyal to my school: and will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.




Here is a list of this year's NHS inductees.

Coming Soon!